Main | Dr. King's Legacy Still Resonates Throughout The Land »

January 18, 2008


Welcome to our Build The Dream blog. The blog site for Build The We'll be blogging on our on going efforts to "Build The Dream," as well as news and events related to those efforts - and, of course, to Dr. King. We're a work in progress, just as is the monument to a truly great man. So please check back. And remember to visit Build The Dream.

Here is some background information for you.

On September 28, 1996 the U.S. House of Representatives passed Joint Resolution 70 authorizing Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. to establish a memorial in Washington, DC to honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. The Senate followed by passing Joint Resolution 426 on October 3, 1996, and on July 16, 1998, President Clinton signed a Joint Congressional Resolution authorizing the building of a memorial.

Situated on a four-acre site along the Tidal Basin, the Washington, DC Martin Luther King, Jr. National Memorial will be adjacent to the Franklin D. Roosevelt Memorial and on a direct line between the Lincoln and Jefferson Memorials.

In December 1999, the Foundation formed a panel of international architects and designers to develop and coordinate the program of requirements for the Memorial. The design competition attracted more than 1,900 registrants from 52 countries. More than 900 submissions were received from architects, landscape architects, students, sculptors, and professors. In September 2000, the winning design of the ROMA Group of San Francisco was selected. The partnership of Devrouax & Purnell/ROMA Design Group Joint Venture was named Architect of Record in February, 2004.

The Memorial will evoke the memory and spiritual presence of Dr. King. It will honor not only a great man, but the values that empowered his leadership, including courage and truth, unconditional love and forgiveness, justice and equality, reconciliation and peace.

The groundbreaking is contingent upon the Foundation’s “Build the Dream” campaign raising the estimated $100 million required to build the Memorial.

The Foundation is chaired by Global Group Vice President, General Motors Corporation Gary Cowger and former U.N. Ambassador, Andrew Young, and in memory of Coretta Scott King. The Executive Leadership Cabinet (ELC) is comprised of the following members: David Bell, Chairman and CEO, The Interpublic Group of Companies; Phillipe P. Dauman, President and CEO, VIACOM; Suzanne de Passe, Chairperson and CEO, de Passe Entertainment; George Foreman, CEO, Foreman Inc.; William H. Gray, III, Retired President and CEO, The College Fund/United Negro College Fund; H. Edward Hanway, Chairman and CEO, CIGNA Corporation; Honorable Alexis M. Herman, 23rd U.S. Labor Secretary & Chair and CEO New Ventures, Inc.; Thomas J. Hilfiger, Principal Designer, Tommy Hilfiger USA, Inc.; Joel Horowitz, Co-Founder, Tommy Hilfiger Corporation; Sheila C. Johnson-Newman, President, Managing Partner & Governor, Washington, Mystics; Vernon Jordan, Esq., Senior Managing Director, Lazard Freres & Company, LLC; Honorable Jack Kemp, Founder and Chairman, Kemp Partners; Victor MacFarlane, Senior Principal, MacFarlane Partners; J.W. Marriott, Jr., Chairman and CEO, Marriott International, Inc.; Emilio Pardo, Chief Brand Officer, AARP; William F. Pickard, Chairman, Vitec, LLC; General Colin L. Powell, USA (Retired); Franklin D. Raines, Chairman and CEO (Retired), Fannie Mae; Henry Schleiff, President and CEO, The Hallmark Channel; Ivan G. Seidenberg, Chairman and CEO, VERIZON Communications; Russell Simmons, Chairman and CEO, Rush Communications; David Stern, NBA Commissioner; Dale A. Stinton, Executive Vice President and CEO, National Association of Realtors; in memory of Jack Valenti, former Chairman and CEO, Motion Picture Association; Honorable J.C. Watts, Chairman, J.C. Watts Companies; and Dr. Robert L. Wright, Chairman Emeritus & Senior Advisor, Dimensions International, Inc.

Roderick Gillum is the Chairman of the Board and Darryl R. Matthews is the Vice Chairman. Board members include: David Drummond, Vice President, Corporate Development & General Counsel, Google, Inc.; Arthur Fleming, First Vice President and Director, Community Investment Services, Federal Home Loan Bank Atlanta,
Atlanta, GA; Steven R. Gursky, Partner, Dreier LLP; Mari Snyder, Communications Director, Community Relations & Corporate Projects, Marriott International, Inc.; Willard C. Hall, Jr., Executive Director, Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.; Frank Jenkins, CEO, Jenkins & Associates, Inc.; Honorable Jack Kemp, Founder & Chairman, Kemp Partners; Honorable Patrick J. Kennedy, U.S. Congressman; Tyrone Means, Attorney at Law, Thomas, Means, Gillis, Devlin, Robinson & Seay, P.C.; Reverend Joe Ratliff, Pastor, Brentwood Baptist Church; George N. Reaves, Vice President, JP Morgan Institutional Trust Services; Frank Russell, Jr., Retired Executive, AXA; Mari Snyder, Communications Director Community Relations and Corporate Projects, Marriott International, Inc., Washington, DC; Caryl M. Stern, Chief Operating Officer, US Fund for UNICEF; Guy Vickers, President, Tommy Hilfiger Corporate Foundation, Inc.; Robert Wingo, President & CEO, Sanders/Wingo Advertising and Chris C. Womack, Senior Vice President, Southern Company Generation.

President George H. W. Bush; President Jimmy Carter; President Bill Clinton; Nancy Reagan (representing President Ronald Reagan); and in memory of Lady Bird Johnson (representing President Lyndon B. Johnson).

The Congressional Committee, which is still in formation, currently consists of 250 Members of Congress. To review the list, visit

Laila Ali, Muhammad Ali, Dr. Maya Angelou, Clarence Avant, AngelaBassett, Richard Brooks, Chris Brown, Roger Aaron Brown, Tommy Davidson, Suzzanne Douglas, Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds, Tracey Edmonds, Laurence Fishburne, Antwone Fisher, Harrison Ford, George Foreman, Vivica A. Fox, Morgan Freeman, Whoopi Goldberg, Dennis Haysbert, Dule Hill, Dustin Hoffman, Ernie Hudson, Samuel L. Jackson, Anne Marie Johnson, Patti La Belle, Walt “Baby” Love-Shaw, Peter Max, Holly Robinson Peete and Rodney Peete, Joseph C. Phillips, Paul Pierce, James Reynolds, Lionel Ritchie, Al Roker, Victoria Rowell, Deborah and Carlos Santana, Oz Scott, Martin Sheen, Elisabeth Shue, Andrew Shue, Tavis Smiley, Jerry Stackhouse, Sean Patrick Thomas, Lorraine Touissant, Dr. Debbye Turner, Dionne Warwick, Chris Webber and Brad Whitford.

All donations are tax deductible to the fullest extent of the law. The Foundation is a 501[c] (3) organization.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Welcome:


Your support brings us one step closer to building this Memorial on the National Mall in Washington, D.C. Help us honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and his vision for America. Help us “Build the Dream.”

Contact Us

Leave Comments!

The Build the Dream Blog wants to know what you think! Click the "Comments" link at the end of any blog post to leave feedback or tell your own story. It's quick, easy, and you can even remain anonymous!

July 2008

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    

Get Posts by Email

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

401 F Street, NW, Suite 334 | Washington, DC 20001 | 1.888.484.3373
© 2008 Washington, DC Martin Luther King, Jr.
National Memorial Project Foundation, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.